Voting ends in Gilgit Baltistan polls

GILGIT: Voting has ended in the Gilgit Baltistan elections in which 330 candidates from various parties are vying for 24 general seats in the Gilgit Baltistan (GB) Assembly. 

Voting began at 8 am and continued till 5 PM. Voting went smoothly throughout the province except for some places in Ghizer, Sost and Hunza where snowfall disrupting transport links resulting in difficulties for some citizens to reach the pollings stations. 

Some power outages have also been reported in some polling stations which has resulted in slowing down the registration of voter data. 

The total number of polling stations was 1,141. Out of those, 577 were declared sensitive and 297 were declared highly sensitive. 

Thousands of masks and hand sanitizers were also dispatched to polling stations to ensure COVID-19 protocols. 

PPP Chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari who has led an impressive campaign in GB tweeted, “The people of GB’s enthusiasm is a testament to their commitment to democracy. The election commission must not fail them and ensure every vote is cast & counted. #TeerPayThappa.” 

On the other hand, PML-N leader Engineer Khurram Dastgir Khan tweeted that PML-N polling agents weren’t being allowed inside the polling stations. 

Mohtarma Maryam Nawaz Sharif retweeted Dastgir’s claims. 

Taking to the microblogging site, Twitter, Information Minister Shibli Faraz said that the people of Gilgit Baltistan would vote for ‘Tabdeeli’. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button