Three accused in Johar Town blast sentenced to death

A special Anti-Terrorism Court (ATC) sentenced three convicts in the Johar Town blast case to death nine times each after finding them guilty.

The court also ordered the confiscation of the properties of the three criminals.

ATC Administrator Judge Abhar Gul Khan heard the case on Tuesday.

The hearing was conducted via a video link amid security concerns.

After the conclusion of the arguments of the witnesses and the lawyers, the court pronounced the verdict in the case.

Those sentenced to death were Samiul Haq, Aziz Akbar and Naveed Akhtar.

A case had been registered against them with the Johar Town police station in Lahore.

CTD Inspector Khalid Akbar submitted a challan against the convicts.

It is pertinent to note that four accused had already been sentenced to death nine times in this case.

In December last year, Interior Minister Rana Sanaullah said the possible target of Lahore’s Johar Town vehicle-borne improvised explosive device blast in June was Lashkar-e-Tayyaba chief Hafiz Saeed, adding that the mastermind of the blast was an agent of Indian spy agency RAW.

The minister had said India was involved in directly fanning terrorism in Pakistan while announcing to raise the matter with the United Nations (UN).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button