PM nominates Mirza Mohammad Afridi for the deputy chairman slot

ISLAMABAD: Prime Minister Imran Khan on Thursday nominated Mirza Mohammad Afridi as the government’s candidate for the post of deputy Senate chairman.

According to the details, Federal Minister for Information and Broadcasting Senator Shibli Faraz announced this news in his Twitter post stated that: “Prime Minister Imran Khan has nominated Senator Mirza Mohammad Afridi for Deputy Chairman Slot giving representation to Ex FATA PTI member.”

Afridi is an independent candidate from erstwhile FATA who has been a Senator since March 2018 and his tenure will end in March 2024. He serves as a member of Commerce, Council of Chairpersons, Inter-Provincial Coordination, Poverty Alleviation Social Safet, Railways and Power committees.

On the other hand, the PDM nominee for the slot of Senate deputy chairman is JUI-F leader Abdul Ghafoor Haideri. The election will be held tomorrow after the newly elected senator will take the oath.

According to the reports, the Senate will elect its Chairman and Deputy Chairman through secret ballot after oath-taking of 48 newly elected members of the Upper House of the Parliament in Islamabad tomorrow (Friday).

The government has decided to back the current Senate Chairman Sadiq Sanjrani while the PDM candidate is former prime minister Yousaf Raza Gilani, who pulled a shock victory over the PTI’s Dr Abdul Hafeez Shaikh in the recently-held Senate elections.

As per the Senate Secretariat, the session will meet in the morning for the oath-taking of the newly elected senators after which the session will be adjourned.

Nomination papers for the chairman and deputy chairman will be then submitted. Later the session will resume in the evening to elect the new chairman and deputy chairman of the Upper House.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button