NA Speaker decides to issue production orders of arrested lawmakers for upcoming Senate polls

ISLAMABAD: Speaker National Assembly Asad Qaiser has decided to issue production orders of arrested lawmakers for the upcoming Senate polls.

This decision is taken so that the parliamentarians can vote in the upcoming Senate elections.

Currently, Shehbaz Sharif Leader of the Opposition in the National Assembly and Khawaja Asif are the notable members who are in jail.

On the other hand, PPP’s Syed Khursheed Shah and MNA Ali Wazir Khan are also under arrest.

Meanwhile, PMLN’s member said that the issue of production orders of arrested opposition leaders by the National Assembly speaker is not an act of charity but their basic right. It is the right of every parliamentarian to vote.

The production orders for the four parliamentarians have also been sent to the NA speaker.

It is also reported that the parliamentarians will be brought to Islamabad on March 2, a day before the Senate polls are held.

ECP extends date to file nomination papers:

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Saturday extended the date to file nomination papers for the Senate election till February 15.

According to the statement released by ECP, the date to file nomination papers has been set from February 12 till February 15.

The ECP said that it was amending the dates after seeing reports in the media that the candidates were facing difficulties in completing legal formalities to file nomination papers.

The Senate polls are scheduled to be held on March 3.

PTI announces candidates for Senate elections:

The Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) announced the list of candidates for the upcoming Senate elections polls.

Minister for Science and Technology Fawad Chaudhry on Friday disclosed in his various tweets that the party has finalised most of its candidates for the Senate polls.

“The PTI has finalised the names of most of its candidates. From Islamabad, Dr Abdul Hafeez Shaikh and Fauzia Arshad have been selected as the PTI’s candidates,” he tweeted.

“From Sindh, Faisal Vawda will contest the election while Saifullah Abro will contest the election for the technocrats seat as the PTI’s candidate,” added the minister.

“From Punjab, Saifullah Niazi, Dr Zarqa and Barrister Ali Zafar will contest the election as PTI candidates. Announcements regarding the other seats will be made later,” said Chaudhry.

“Shibli Faraz, Mohsin Aziz, Dost Mohammad, Sania Nishtar and Farzana have been included in the list of final names.” he tweeted.

PPP announces candidates for Senate elections:

Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) also announced the list of candidates for the upcoming Senate elections polls.

According to the details, 14 of its PPP candidates will contest the upcoming Senate polls.

The PPP issued tickets to Taj Haider, Saleem Mandviwala, Sherry Rehman, Shahadat Awan, Jam Mehtab Dehar for Sindh’s general seats.

For the technocrat seat, tickets were issued to the Sindh-based party’s Farooq H. Naek, Shahadat Awan and Dr Karim Ahmed Khawaja, whereas Palwasha Khan and Khairunisa Mughal for the women’s seat whereas Rukhsana Shah as a covering candidate.

Also, PPP has issued the ticket to Azeem-ul-Haq Minhas in Punjab.

While from Islamabad, PPP proposal for the joint candidate with PDM is Yousuf Raza Gillani whereas, from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Farhatullah Babar will also be the joint candidate in the upcoming Senate elections.

Raja Furqan Ahmed

Raja Furqan Ahmed is the News Editor of The Pakistan Daily.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button