De Bruyne, Lewandowski, Neuer shortlisted for UEFA player of the year

Kevin De Bruyne, Robert Lewandowski and Manuel Neuer are shortlisted for the UEFA men’s Player of the Year award, European football’s governing body said on Wednesday.

Lewandowski led Bayern Munich to their sixth Champions League title, finishing as the top scorer with 15 goals. The Polish striker scored 55 goals in 47 games in all competitions as Bayern won the treble.

Neuer, a part of Bayern’s treble-winning squad, kept six clean sheets in the Champions League and missed just one game the entire season.

City midfielder De Bruyne scored a record-equalling 20 assists in the Premier League last season which is the highest in Europe.

Manchester City full-back Lucy Bronze, Chelsea striker Pernille Harder and Olympique Lyonnais defender Wendie Renard were shortlisted for the women’s award.

Bayern’s Hans-Dieter Flick, Liverpool’s Juergen Klopp and RB Leipzig’s Julian Nagelsmann were nominated for the Men’s Coach of the Year award. At the same time, Barcelona’s Lluis Cortes, Wolfsburg’s Stephan Lerch and Lyon’s Jean-Luc Vasseur made the shortlist for the women’s award.

The awards will be presented at the 2020-21 UEFA Champions League group stage draw ceremony on Oct. 1.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button