By-elections on 4 vacant seats being held today

By-elections are being held today on four vacant national and provincial assembly seats.

Polling is currently underway for, NA-75, Sialkot-IV Daska, PP-51 Gujranwala I, NA-45 Kurram I and PK-63 Nowshera III. The seats have fallen vacant after the death of the former lawmakers.

The Elections Commission of Pakistan confirmed that polling would continue till 5 pm.

Extra security measures have been undertaken to ensure that the polling of votes is carried out in a peaceful and transparent manner.

NA-75 Daska was previously held by PML-N MNA Iftikharul Hassan Shah.

Approximately 360 polling stations have been set up in the constituency and the total number of voters is 44,003.

A tough contest is being witnessed between PML-N’s Syeda Nosheen Iftikhar of and Ali Asjad of PTI.

The NA-45 seat was previously occupied by JUI-F MNA Munir Khan Orakzai.

27 candidates are competing for victory in NA-45. PTI’s Fakharuzzaman Bangash, JUI-F’s Jamil Khan and independent candidate Haji Syed Jamal are the front runners in the race.

In Kurram, 134 polling stations have been set up for over 180,000 voters.

Previously PPP candidates had won in the Karachi and Sanghar by-polls, and a JUI-F candidate won the Pishin seat, bringing a bing win for the Pakistan Democratic Movement.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button