ANP withdraws from NA-249 by-poll in favour of PML-N’s candidate

KARACHI: The Awami National Party (ANP) on Wednesday announced the withdrawal of its candidate Haji Aurangzeb Khan Buneri for the upcoming by-elections in NA-249 Karachi in favor of PML-N’s Miftah Ismail.

ANP took this decision after talks with the PML-N.

Meanwhile, PMLN also asked Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) to withdraw its candidate for the by-poll but PPP refused.

As earlier, Awami National Party (ANP) announced their withdrawal from the Pakistan Democratic Movement (PDM) after a show-cause notice issued over supporting PPP in the appointment of opposition leader in Senate.

Addressing a press conference in Peshawar, Ameer Haider Khan Houti said that certain political groups (PMLN) have hijacked the opposition alliance.

“I withdraw myself from the PDM as its vice-president, Mian Iftikhar withdraws himself as PDM’s spokesperson [and] Zahid Khan withdraws himself from the PDM as its deputy general secretary,” ANP leader said.

Houti said such issues should have been taken up in a meeting of the PDM leadership.

Houti also raised the question “And with what authority would one have served a show-cause notice?”

The ANP leader said the PDM can’t be called an alliance. “The ANP is withdrawing itself from this process.”

He said that such a move “makes it very clear” that “two or three parties” wish to take the lead in all decision-making.

Hoti added that the party feels as if they have been “pushed against the wall”.

“A leader’s position is not one to be used to attack in such a manner,” he said, referring to Fazlur Rehman. “A leader gives everyone a chance and tries to resolve all differences between parties of an alliance,” Hoti added.

He said that for ANP, the agenda is the same that had been decided on September 20 and which is in the Charter signed by all parties.

“They consider ANP and PPP as obstacles in their way,” he added.

This comes as PDM on Monday issued show-cause notices to the PPP and ANP over Gilani’s appointment as the Senate opposition leader.

On the other hand, PMLN’s Miftah Ismail, PPP’s Nisar Khuhro, Qadir Mandokhail, PSP’s Mustafa Kamal received nomination papers to contest the NA-249 by-poll.

The by-poll will be held on April 29. Candidates can submit their nomination papers between March 13 and March 17.

Candidates withdrawing from the by-elections will be able to withdraw their papers by April 7. The scrutiny process will start on March 25.

It is to be mentioned here that in the by-polls held in the past two months, the PML-N and the PPP supported each other in constituencies in various provinces.

Faisal Vawda who won the NA-249 seat in 2018 is now elected as a senator from Sindh. The last NA-249 election had been a close contest, with Vawda securing 35,344 votes to defeat PMLNs Shehbaz Sharif who polled 34,626 votes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button