48 newly-elected senators take the oath of office

ISLAMABAD: The 48 newly elected members of the Senate have taken oath in today’s special Senate session.

According to the reports, the majority of the newly elected senators belong to the ruling party Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI). They have been sworn in as senators for a term of six years, from 2021 to 2027.

Senator Sayed Muzafar Hussain Shah, who has been nominated as the presiding officer, administered the oath to the members-elect shortly after the session started at 10 am.

PTI’s Mohsin Aziz, Liaqat Tarakai, Shibli Faraz, Faisal Saleem, Zeeshan Khanzada, Dost Muhammad Khan, Humayun Mohmand, Faisal Vawda, Saifullah Abro and Abdul Qadir took the oath. Besides them, Sania Nishtar, Falak Naz, Gardeep Singh, Fauzia Arshad, Saifullah Niazi, Aun Abbas, Ejaz Chaudhry and Ali Zafar also took the oath.

Eight PPP senators which include Sherry Rehman, Saleem Mandviwala, Taj Haider, Shahadat Awan, Jam Mehtab Dehar, Palwasha Khan, Farooq H Naik and Yousaf Raza Gillani have also been sworn in as senators.

Six Balochistan Awami Party (BAP) senators which include Prince Ahmed Omar, Manzoor Ahmed, Sarfraz Bugti, Saeed Hashmi, Samina Mushtaq and Danish Kumar, took the oath.

From PML-N, five senators, Dr Afnanullah, Sadia Abbasi, Sajid Mir, Azam Nazir Tarar and Irfan Siddiqui, took their oath, while Maulana Abdul Ghafoor Haideri, Kamran Murtaza and Ata-ur-Rehman took oath from Jamiat Ulema-e-Islami.

Hidayatullah and Umar Farooq of ANP, Faisal Sabzwari and Khaleda Ateeb of MQM, Muhammad Qasim and Naseema Ehsan of BNP and Kamil Ali Agha of PML-Q were also among those who took the oath.

The PTI’s tally in the Senate now stands at 25. After eight seats, PPP’s total seats in the upper house stands at 21, PML-N 18, BAP has now a total of 12 seats in Senate, JUI-F five and MQM-P three.

In the next phase of the ongoing session, the Upper House will elect its chairman and deputy chairman.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button