ICC T20 World Cup Final: England beats Pakistan by 5 wickets

England beats Pakistan by 5 wickets in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Final at the MCG on Sunday.

England defeated Pakistan in the T20 World Cup final to deny Men in Green a fairytale finish in the tournament and become the first team to hold both global white-ball trophies in cricket at the same time.

Despite early strikes by the Green Shirts, England managed to sail through with unbeaten 52 by Ben Stokes.

Earlier, Pakistan set a target of 138 runs against England. England skipper Jos Buttler had won the toss and had no hesitation in opting to send Pakistan into bat first in overcast conditions in Melbourne.

England named an unchanged XI for the match, with fast bowler Mark Wood and key batter Dawid Malan unable to prove their fitness in time for the clash.

It means Chris Jordan and Phil Salt get another chance to perform, with Jordan fresh from his three-wicket haul against India in the semi-finals.

Pakistan have also named an unchanged XI for the match, with openers Babar Azam and Mohammad Rizwan to get the first chance on a pitch that appears good for batting.

England: Jos Buttler (c, wk), Alex Hales, Phil Salt, Ben Stokes, Harry Brook, Liam Livingstone, Moeen Ali, Sam Curran, Chris Woakes, Chris Jordan, Adil Rashid

Pakistan: Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Babar Azam (c), Mohammad Haris, Shan Masood, Iftikhar Ahmed, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Naseem Shah, Haris Rauf, Shaheen Afridi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button